Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
3

Gaming News

'Angry Birds Star Wars' release date announced - trailer

By
Angry Birds Star Wars will be available to download in November, a new video has revealed.

The Angry Birds Star Wars teaser trailer expands on the recently released image, revealing a November 8 launch date.


The title is said to adopt the same gameplay used in Angry Birds Space, reports USA Today, while Lucasfilm's Paul Southern revealed that a number of famous characters will be represented.

"They are not Angry Birds dressed up as Star Wars characters, they are characters in their own right," Southern explained.

"For example, Red Bird will be transformed into Luke Skywalker as an X-Wing pilot in Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope. They've got personalities which are kind of similar."

Chewbacca, Princess Leia, Han Solo and Obi-Wan Kenobi will also feature in the game, alongside Darth Vader.

"You will see a pig-esque Vader and pig-esque stormtroopers," Southern added.

A full reveal is expected to take place at the Toys R Us in New York Times Square later today (October 8), according to the Angry Birds Tumblr page.

Fans are encouraged to visit the site at 8am ET (1pm BST) in time for the official unveiling at 10am ET (3pm BST).

Angry Birds Star Wars

© Rovio Entertainment



Rovio previously teamed up with punk rock act Green Day to launch a special edition of Angry Birds featuring the band on Facebook.

More recently, deceased Queen singer Freddie Mercury was given the Angry Birds treatment in a charity video.

The last fortnight, meanwhile, has seen Rovio release Bad Piggies for mobile devices and Angry Birds Trilogy for consoles.

> Read Digital Spy's Angry Birds Trilogy review
> Mobile review round-up: Bad Piggies, Lili, Catch-22, Royal Revolt

Watch a trailer for Angry Birds Trilogy below:

You May Like

Comments

Loading...