Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
4

Gaming News

Wii U day-one update to be pre-installed in New Year

By
The Wii U's controversial day-one update will come pre-installed in future consoles, Nintendo has announced.

The day-one update is necessary to install the system's online features, including Miiverse, Nintendo Chat and the eShop.
However, turning the console off during the installation process is said to "brick" the Wii U, rendering the console unusable.

The update has also been criticised for the amount of memory it uses and the time it takes to install.

Explaining that the patch was a last minute addition, Nintendo's Reggie Fils-Aime told Gamasutra that the Wii U will ship with a pre-installed update in 2013.

"Nintendo developers want to make sure that the very best product is available to consumers," he said.

"That creates a dynamic where our developers are working on elements until the very last point possible.

"That's why the system update was required on Day One - and this is quite similar to what's happened with other consumer electronic products."


The Wii U launched across Europe on November 30, and was released earlier this month in North America, selling 400,000 systems in its first week of release.

The console reportedly shifted 40,000 units during its first weekend on sale in the UK, with supplies said to be limited until after Christmas.

Despite the impressive figures, no Wii U games made this week's all-format top ten.

Nintendo will preview a number of upcoming Wii U and 3DS games during a live video conference tomorrow (December 5) at 5pm UK time (12pm Eastern / 9am Pacific).

The presentation will be streamed on the Nintendo Direct website.

> Read our review of Nintendo Land
> Read our review of New Super Mario Bros U
> Read our review of ZombiU
> Read our review of Scribblenauts Unlimited (US only)

Watch a hands-on video with the Wii U below:

You May Like

Comments

Loading...