0 Movies News

'The Sapphires' dominates second annual AACTA nominations

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has announced the nominees for its second annual awards.

The Sapphires leads the way in the film categories, scooping 12 nominations including 'Best Actor' for Chris O'Dowd, 'Best Actress' for Deborah Mailman and 'Best Supporting Actress' for Jessica Mauboy.

Other movie nominees include Jonathan Teplitzky's romantic drama Burning Man, which is nominated in ten categories, and Cate Shortland's German-language wartime thriller Lore, which gets the nod in eight categories.

Network Ten's Puberty Blues and ABC1 drama Redfern Now lead the nominees in the TV fields.

The AACTA was constituted in 2011 as a subsidiary of the Australian Film Institute (AFI), and the inaugural AACTA awards were held this January after the long-running AFI Awards were renamed and reconstituted.

Snowtown, Red Dog and ABC1 TV miniseries The Slap were among the major winners.

The second annual AACTA Awards will be held at the Star Events Centre in Sydney on January 30, 2013. They will be preceded by an awards luncheon on January 28, 2013, when producer Al Clark will be honoured with the Raymond Longford Award for outstanding lifetime achievement.

Photo gallery - AACTA International Awards in Hollywood - Red carpet arrivals:

You May Like